must be the truth

We must fall back upon the old axiom that when all other contingencies fail, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth. – Sherlock Holmes, The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans (Page 926), His Last Bow (1917)

 

Once you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth. – Spock, “Star Trek” (1966), Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country (1991), Star Trek (2009)

 

While I was skimming through the tv channels, one of it, HBO I think, aired Star Trek, the JJ Abrams’ one. It was quite a long time since I watched it the first time in 2009, when it was released. And I find it amusingto watch it again.

Then it was just that scene that caught my attention, what Spock said. I remember that sentence. From the old Star Trek movie.

If you wonder why a kid’s at my age know that movie, my mother is a trekkies. She grew up watching the whole series. She’s also a movie maniac. So yeah, I’m quite familiar with Star Trek.

Then it strucked me. It was the same sentence from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s most famous detective: Sherlock Holmes. Who also happened to be my favorite novel character.

I read that sentence years ago. In the book.

I don’t really have a point here, but I just need to write it down.

Am gonna keep on writing in this space, though.

Leave a Reply

